New ICD-11 Codes Released by World Health Organization

ICD-11 announced by the World Health Organization

The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the basis for identifying global health trends and statistics. The codes which make up ICD encompass everything from injuries, disease, and causes of death. It allows health professionals to share health information by using the codes as a common language throughout healthcare. Recently, the World Health Organization (WHO) released ICD-11, the latest edition of codes to be used across the healthcare spectrum. It contains around 55,000 unique codes as opposed to the 14,400 included within ICD-10.

The latest draft version contains about 30 main categories. New categories include conditions related to sexual health, traditional medicine conditions and diseases of the immune system. The below graphic shows a quick overview of the effort put into the development of the latest release:

One of the new sections to ICD-11 is the inclusion of antimicrobial resistance. The codes for the resistance of antibiotics are in support of the Global Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance System (GLASS). The creation of new codes are intended to allow for a better understanding of patient circumstances, how patients are affected, and provide easier diagnosis with improved care.

New codes in ICD-11 include but are not limited to the following:

  • Problems associated with transferring patients (Code QA82)
  • Gender incongruence (Code HA4Z)
  • Gaming disorder (Code 6C51)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (Code 6B40)

Once the new set of codes are fully endorsed, ICD-11 will fully go into effect within the next few years. The WHO suggests that the codes will be presented for endorsement during the World Health Assembly next year, with expectations for Member States to begin reporting health data by January of 2022.